| Author |
Message |
OldSnipe
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Mar 16, 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Bend, Oregon
|
I have been noting that my anti-spyware program gets excited when I log onto this Forum. I took a closer look this morning. It seems you are sending out some cookies that don't seem to be IAC with the spyware rules. Probably ads, I think I saw Amazon's name on one of them.
It would say a lot for the integrity of this forum if it ran a little cleaner? |
_________________ Snipe
N 43.96674 / W. 121.35427
ISP: Bend Broadband cable connection
Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB5101
Tel. Cachinkus: Linksys v-portal
Who the heck is the Old Snipe? Http://oldsnipe.com knows |
|
|
|
 |
dconnor
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 05, 2003
Posts: 2135
Location: The Beach
|
| OldSnipe wrote: |
I have been noting that my anti-spyware program gets excited when I log onto this Forum. I took a closer look this morning. It seems you are sending out some cookies that don't seem to be IAC with the spyware rules. Probably ads, I think I saw Amazon's name on one of them.
It would say a lot for the integrity of this forum if it ran a little cleaner? |
OldSnipe: This site runs one cookie, the one that keeps you logged in, i.e., shows you what topics you have read, not read, tells you have a PM...
As for the Amazon ad, I did not know it was pulling or attempting to pull a cookie. I will look into that today. But I find it hard to believe that an Amazon cookie would upset your spyware software. You might want to check your settings.
I can reassure you that no other cookies are used on this site. |
_________________ Have Questions? Need to speak to Vonage before signing up?
Call: 1-888-692-8074
Both Business and Residential customers can call and speak to a Vonage Sales Rep 24 hours a day.
For Vonage UK the number is 0808 168 1000 |
|
|
|
 |
OldSnipe
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Mar 16, 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Bend, Oregon
|
It blocked four just now when I punched the e-mail hyperlink to see this reply. I will see if I can trap them for your review. Please be aware that although I am a Webmaster of several sites I am not really a computer or Internet whizz. Rather I depend on software to guide me through the maze. There have been documented times that software, even the pricey stuff has flat lied to me.
Thanks, |
_________________ Snipe
N 43.96674 / W. 121.35427
ISP: Bend Broadband cable connection
Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB5101
Tel. Cachinkus: Linksys v-portal
Who the heck is the Old Snipe? Http://oldsnipe.com knows |
|
|
|
 |
dconnor
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 05, 2003
Posts: 2135
Location: The Beach
|
I can now see that the Amazon ad is attempting to place 2 cookies, but it is Amazon, certainly a trusted site.
Your spyware software should not have a problem with that.
Now if it was something like gator, I could understand. |
_________________ Have Questions? Need to speak to Vonage before signing up?
Call: 1-888-692-8074
Both Business and Residential customers can call and speak to a Vonage Sales Rep 24 hours a day.
For Vonage UK the number is 0808 168 1000 |
|
|
|
 |
OldSnipe
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Mar 16, 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Bend, Oregon
|
Here is a screen shot:
True these cookies are probably not harmful, however they are not needed to use your forum. They are unsolicited vermin that anyone reading this forum that does not have a spyware blocker is getting on their computer. Can you spell SPAM?
Respectfully, |
_________________ Snipe
N 43.96674 / W. 121.35427
ISP: Bend Broadband cable connection
Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB5101
Tel. Cachinkus: Linksys v-portal
Who the heck is the Old Snipe? Http://oldsnipe.com knows |
|
|
|
 |
dconnor
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 05, 2003
Posts: 2135
Location: The Beach
|
Let me ask you a question?
What does your Spyware software report to you when you go to the following sites?
CNN.com
MSN
eBay
News.com
Vonage
I would hardly classify cookies as spam. |
_________________ Have Questions? Need to speak to Vonage before signing up?
Call: 1-888-692-8074
Both Business and Residential customers can call and speak to a Vonage Sales Rep 24 hours a day.
For Vonage UK the number is 0808 168 1000 |
|
|
|
 |
OldSnipe
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Mar 16, 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Bend, Oregon
|
Hmmm.
First you said:
| Quote: |
OldSnipe: This site runs one cookie, the one that keeps you logged in, i.e., shows you what topics you have read, not read, tells you have a PM...
I can reassure you that no other cookies are used on this site. |
Then you said:
| Quote: |
I can now see that the Amazon ad is attempting to place 2 cookies, but it is Amazon, certainly a trusted site.
Your spyware software should not have a problem with that.
Now if it was something like gator, I could understand |
Followed by:
| Quote: |
| I would hardly classify cookies as spam. |
Yes Mate,
I count cookies for ad's as Spam! (Since you asked).
Respectfully, |
_________________ Snipe
N 43.96674 / W. 121.35427
ISP: Bend Broadband cable connection
Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB5101
Tel. Cachinkus: Linksys v-portal
Who the heck is the Old Snipe? Http://oldsnipe.com knows |
|
|
|
 |
dconnor
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 05, 2003
Posts: 2135
Location: The Beach
|
Would you be so kind as to answer this, please.
| Quote: |
Let me ask you a question?
What does your Spyware software report to you when you go to the following sites? |
Furthermore, if you opened up your screen print, you would see that all that is being pulled is third party pictures and instructions to Amazon of what ad to display (each click displays a different ad), not a single tracking cookie.
Sorry if I misspoke above about 2 Amazon cookies, it is actually 2 Amazon pictures.
Your spyware software (in its' current settings) will give you the same results on any forum topic page in which a member has an off site avatar.
I stand by my original comment:
| Quote: |
| I can reassure you that no other cookies are used on this site. |
|
_________________ Have Questions? Need to speak to Vonage before signing up?
Call: 1-888-692-8074
Both Business and Residential customers can call and speak to a Vonage Sales Rep 24 hours a day.
For Vonage UK the number is 0808 168 1000 |
|
|
|
 |
OldSnipe
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Mar 16, 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Bend, Oregon
|
OK Mate,
You win, I lose. After all it is your site and apparently your hackles are up.
Please use your own time and equipment if you want Spam research done on various sites. I'm much to busy to get about that though I might could make time if you want to send me a PO. We could talk.
Humbled at my experience with DOconner is: |
_________________ Snipe
N 43.96674 / W. 121.35427
ISP: Bend Broadband cable connection
Modem: Motorola Surfboard SB5101
Tel. Cachinkus: Linksys v-portal
Who the heck is the Old Snipe? Http://oldsnipe.com knows |
|
|
|
 |
LuisPR
Vonage Forum Master


Joined: Oct 08, 2004
Posts: 192
|
I would have to side with the admin dconnor on this one.
dconnor got a little edgy, but what webmaster wouldn't with a title like "spyware and vonage forum".
Oldsnipe all but called the admin a bad name, a real bad name as webmasters go, a pervader of spyware.
dconnor came out fighting defending what he knew was not true.
The poster Oldsnipe should retract that title, as it is not true along with this statement,
"It would say a lot for the integrity of this forum if it ran a little cleaner?"
dconnor needs to take 3 days off and have a smoke, Oldsnipe need to make apiologies and get his facts straight prior to making bold statements again.
Thats my 2 cents |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|