Syndication

Vonage Customer Reviews
Appreciation
Appreciation

Vonage vs. Time Warner Cable SoCal
Vonage vs. Time Warner Cable SoCal

international connection
international connection

VDV21-VD adapter and Vonage service - a winner!
VDV21-VD adapter and Vonage service - a winner!

Should have signed up sooner!!!!
Should have signed up sooner!!!!

Vonage Reviews

Post new topic   Reply to topic  Vonage® VoIP Forum - Vonage News, Reviews And Discussion » Vonage Forum Archive
twn2
Vonage Forum Junior
Vonage Forum Junior

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:18 pm    Post subject: 4-day Noob getting frustrated... Reply with quote Back to top

Let me start by saying this, I've been running Linux for the past 4 years, so I don't get frustrated easily, but this is kinda getting to me.

I got the Linksys router on Friday, set it up, had tone and made a call within 10 minutes. That was easy, now the hard part is getting it to *work* consistently.

First, here's my setup:

Adelphia Cable > Linksys BEFCMU10 Cable modem > SMC 2804WBRP-G Wireless Router > Linksys RT31P2. Note: prior to Vonage, my network ran flawlessly. (cable: tested on DSLReports: 4.3mb down, 780k up).

Now, I have the SMC setup as a DHCP with all clients as static. I setup the RT31P2 with a static IP of 192.168.2.9 WAN and 192.168.2.7 LAN with DHCP turned off. I have nothing other than the phone connected to the RT31.

Problem:

About 1 of 5 or 6 outbound calls will not go thru. The people on the other side says his phone will ring, but no one will answer. I don't hear it ring at all. All calls within my area code are fine....just long distance calls don't work well. Here's an interesting thing, International calls all work fine too (UK, Germany, France tested).